This Week’s Wrap Up: Oct 21-27

NON-KOREAN ENTERTAINMENT
Bones
Bones and Booth are married! Let’s stare at Bones’ (Emily Deschanel) beautiful wedding dress.

20131022-221546.jpg

20131022-221541.jpg

The Ellen Show

Laughed my butt off at this clip of Amy and Andy in a haunted house. Especially Andy. I cannot get enough of this. Watch it! I promise it’ll be the best few minutes of your day.

Grey’s Anatomy
I have to, have to, have to quote Christina on this one!
“Also the automatic paper towel thingy won’t recognize me as human. I’m standing there waving my hands like an idiot.”

Read about Korean entertainment after the jump

KOREAN ENTERTAINMENT

20131023-160909.jpg
Marry Him If You Dare
This drama is really confusing with all the time travelling and dreams! It takes a lot to keep track of all that is happening but it keeps me intrigued. I feel that Ajumma Mirae is silly by withholding information from young Mirae for so long. She should sit young Mirae down and lecture her about her future sooner. With that information, young Mirae is supposed to make the right decision to change the track of her life but she’s not listening! How exasperating! I wish I had a future self like that to tell me what to do now. I would like to have Mirae’s dilemma as she’s surrounded by two dashing men who seems to be attracted to her. Lucky girl.

Seo Yoo Kyung (Han Chae Ah) is annoying and loveable at the same time. I think I got that wrong. Need a re-write: Seo Yoo Kyung is annoying whereas Han Chae Ah is loveable. I have grown to love Han Chae Ah despite her playing multiple annoying characters in recent years. Seo Yoo Kyung is the annoying and flirtatious reporter who wants both Park Sae Joo (Jung Yong Hwa) and Kim Shin (Lee Dong Gun) in her grasp.

I had a ROFL moment when Kim Shin puts on the Darth Vader costume and says the famous “I’m your father” line. Mirae follows with “I’m your mother”.

Good Doctor withdrawal syndrome – have you found a cure?
Second week without Monday & Tuesday anticipation of Good Doctor episodes. Not to fret, because Joo Sang Wook is on this Sunday’s episode of Running Man while Joowon will be on 2 Days 1 Night… Which brings us to the next three sections: Running Man, 2 Days 1 Night and Medical Top Team.

Running Man
20131023-161912.jpg
Love watching this guy as himself and free of the character he plays in dramas. Bring on the Joo Sang Wook ha-ha-ha laughter and ajumma chatter.  He’s spotted chatting to the film crew, his VJ, himself and even to chickens.

First 6 minutes of Running Man had me ROFLing.  Kwang Soo took the opportunity to smack Jong Kook in the head when a moth landed on his helmet.  Not long after, a butterfly flies by teasing Joo Sang Wook and Gary but somehow decides to land on Kwang Soo’s nose.  Who do you think took that as an excuse to hit someone in the face?  Sweet revenge is never this funny.

2 Days 1 Night

20131027-120010.jpg
Missing Park Si On? Last chance you’ll see Joowon on screen on a weekly basis every Sunday. It is Joowon’s last episode of 2 Days 1 Night. Cue the waterworks. I was sad when MC Mong left the show followed by Kang Hodong, half the cast of Season 1 and Kim Seung Woo. Truthfully, I have not yet warmed up to Yoo Hae Jin who replaced the oldie and disruptive Kim Seung Woo. I don’t even remember Yoo Hae Jin’s character on the show, except the fact that he lies about not being competitive.

With all those great cast come and gone, now it is cute maknae Joowon’s turn to leave. Yeah, he sure doesn’t talk all that much on the show but he does bring the cute, cuddly and warmth. Except when they’re talking games and food. That’s when he gets gaksital-like. We won’t see him any time soon on the small screen, at least based on the absence of drama casting announcements thus far.

Medical Top Team
20131023-144350.jpgLesson of the week: Medical Top Team is not Good Doctor. It is very different in its approach and hence not the drama to watch when coming off Good Doctor. I noticed that I have been picking out the flaws of Medical Top Team rather than enjoying its positives.

Kwon Sang Woo is adorable with his child patients and a genius thoracic doctor that seem to gain everyone’s respects pretty quickly. His lisp is a little distracting because I’ve never noticed it before! The only drama I’ve seen him in is Stairway to Heaven and it was dubbed by an annoying high pitched voice. So really, I’ve not heard him speak before. LOL.

Joo Ji Hoon plays Chief Han but seems a little too young have a position like that. Then again, my last impression of him was Goong where he played a high school student in the early part of the drama. Seeing him on screen again reminded me of why I thought he was pretty cute back in 2006. (OMG, has it been that long?). He is responsible for putting together best surgeons from multiple disciplines into a team called Medical Top Team.

I’ve never had much luck with Jung Ryeo Won dramas because I never seem to finish any one of them. She also plays a thoracic surgeon. Her pride gets a little wounded when Kwon Sang Woo’s character steps in to help her with a surgery that she could not complete because of her bad wrist. Kwon Sang Woo’s character practically shone in that surgery and he is recruited by Joo Ji Hoon’s character to join the Medical Top Team. Jung Ryeo Won will go head to head to nab the thoracic surgeon position in Medical Top Team and I suspect that their rivalry will turn into romance somewhere down the road. Is it weird that every time Jung Ryeo Won says “suseulhaeyamida” (we must do the surgery) I imagine Good Doctor’s Park Si On saying the line?

This drama has a star-studded supporting actors but I’m not too interested in them. Sorry Alex, Minho and Oh Yeon Seo. No hard feelings.

SS501 reunite

The boys of SS501 reunite at Heo Yeong Saeng’s last concert before he enlists in the army. Aaahh! It’s been three years and I’m excited to see them back together again. An album will be out of the question for a while as 2 boys will be in the army and the rest are sure to follow suit. Take this as a teaser to a SS501 album release a few years down the road!

OTHERS
Les Trois Cordonniers had a face lift
We’ve changed the theme on our website! Hope our readers like it. We’ve toned down our peachy colour and kept it simple and bright this time. Drop us a comment. We’d love to hear from you.

Still hating on iOS7…
I think I need more time to really, really get used to iOS7. Or maybe I’m just doing too much to stress it out. I’m convinced that it practically hates me. Don’t know if this is related to iOS7 but my emails were, uh, swallowed for a whole day then was spat out after 24 hours. All 21 emails! Sad story.

OUR AWESOME POSTS THIS WEEK
Beauty: Chanel, double eyelids
TV: Pretty Little Liars, Medical Top Team
Music: Gravity soundtrack
Last week’s wrap-up post

One thought on “This Week’s Wrap Up: Oct 21-27

  1. Pingback: This Week’s Wrap-Up: Oct 28-Nov 3 | ♥ Les Trois Cordonniers ♥

Leave a Reply

