Movie Review: Gravity (2013) Spoiler Alerts

Duration: 91 minutes
Genre: Drama, SciFi, Thriller
Year: 2013

I remember watching the trailer for Gravity while I was watching a movie in the theatre in the summer, and I was so pumped and excited about this movie. Something about being lost in space has always terrified me to no point that I wanted to watch raw human emotion when they were faced with this situation. Fear is always something so private and personal that you almost don’t want anyone else to see you wallowed up in terror. At least that’s the case for me. Since I was a young girl, I never let other people (including my family) see me cry. So it’s amazing watching this movie when you see two astronauts who have achieved so much academically and in their work life fight for their lives.

I’m not going to go too much into plot details as I’m sure there’s tons of “reviews” about Gravity already, so I’ll talk about it in a personable point of view.

In the beginning of the movie you get to see the personalities of the astronauts. We have the main cast: Dr. Ryan Stone (Sandra Bullock), Dr. Matt Kowalski (George Clooney). Ryan is the kind that follows directions and is not really a leader. An introvert, she loves the silence of space and how “alone” you really feel although you really aren’t alone (you have your crewmates). Matt is the chatty, extroverted type that Dr. Stone probably finds annoying. Little did they know that these two personalities meshed in perfect unison while trying to fight for their lives.

Matt tries to advert Ryan from her fears by talking about her life as they are drifting away. Although he knows very well they were in trouble, he hides his fear and distracts Ryan from knowing it. He asks her her life story, her family. I really find that this is such a brave act of heroism from Matt. I literally cried when they were trying to hang onto the hanging debris left of their spacecraft and Dr. Kowalski had to decide to let himself go from Dr. Stone to let her survive. I didn’t really understand that part but I think it’s because the more they weighed, the more the debris would tipple over and they would just be doomed for good. It is better to have one person survive than none.

Again, Dr. Kowalski tries to cheer up Dr. Stone by talking until he was drifted too far from radio contact and they couldn’t talk anymore by talking about random crap (lol I guess they told George Clooney to be himself hahah). The last thing that he told her, was that she has to learn to let go and be strong. Dr. Ryan Stone eventually lands back on Earth in the middle of no where, and we are in awe as she tries t

I screamed while in the car going to Gravity and I was screaming on my way home. This was by far the most amazingest (yes, I just said amazingest DONT HATE LOL) movie ever. If I could give it 10 stars out of 5, I would, but I can only give 5/5 stars.

This is actually my first George Clooney film and I am happy to say that I really enjoyed his acting. He’s made me a believer that you should never give up even in the most desperate of desperate sitations, and that you have to live life to the fullest.

One thought on “Movie Review: Gravity (2013) Spoiler Alerts

  1. Pingback: This Week’s Wrap-Up: Oct 14-20 | ♥ les trois cordonniers ♥

Leave a Reply

