Thursday Thoughts: Cooking An Egg with a Thermal Food Jar

Have you missed my Thurday Thoughts segment? I know I did. It’s basically my random-est thoughts and I write a post about them. Heh. If you’ve missed them, read them here.

20130418-144730.jpg
I have been using thermal food jars to store my lunch because I can’t be bothered to hunt down a microwave or carry a glass container around. I am not too confident in those microwaveable plastic containers. Better be safe than sorry, eh? Anyway, on one of my lunch breaks with me and my thoughts, I started wondering if I could make hard-boiled eggs in a thermal food jar. Yes, I’m weird like that.

I’ve noticed that my food jar keeps my food piping hot. I dig in with a spoon and still could see steam coming out of my food. I started thinking that the thermal food jar can probably maintain the temperature of boiling water for a while, or at least keep the water temperature from dropping too fast. With this train of thought, I have pretty much convinced myself that the egg will surely cook using this method. My question then evolved: How long will it take to cook an egg in a thermal food jar? Well my definition of ‘cook’ shall be soft- or hard-boiled egg.

20130418-144740.jpg

I finally got around doing this experiment. I filled my food jar with boiling water and dropped in a raw egg. I set my timer to 1 hour and 30 minutes and sat down to write this post. Yeah, while I am typing out this sentence the egg is still sitting in my thermal food jar probably sweating buckets by now. So will I get soft- or hard-boiled egg after 1.5 hours? Read on to find out. I, on the other hand, still have more than 30 minutes before I find out the answer.

<Waiting…>

<Still waiting…>

20130418-144747.jpg

I cracked open the egg and out comes oozing the egg white and yolk. Yep, definitely soft-boiled. A bit too raw for my liking, but still edible. There were parts of the white that was quite firm and some parts still pretty watery. The yolk can hold its shape to some degree. I cut into the yolk and the golden goodness oozes out slowly. They say the perfect soft boiled egg needs 6 minutes in boiling hot water. The egg from my experiment feels an egg that could need an extra minute in boiling hot water before becoming the perfect soft boiled egg consistency.

The ideal experiment would be to drop two or three eggs into the food jar and take out the first egg after an hour, the second after 1.5 hours and etc. That would probably give a better gauge of how long the egg should be left in the thermal food jar to get the desired degree of cookness. But will the increased number of eggs and the reduced volume of hot, boiling water affect the cooking process? Now that’s something to think about.

Leave a Reply

