SBS Barefoot Friends

bff2

“Oh my gosh!  What show is this?  When is it going to air?  Is anyone going to sub this show?”

That is my first reaction when I read the news on allkpop.  This star-studded show is called Barefoot Friends (맨발의 친구들) and is produced by SBS.  SBS is on a roll these days!  I love Runningman.  I hope they lent some of their genius producers, editors and crew to this production.

Cast

The main reason I am excited about this is because of the cast.  The cast include Kang Ho Dong,  Yoon Jong Shin, Kim Bum Soo, Yoo Se Yoon, Kim Hyun Joong, Uee, Eunhyuk, and Yoon Si Yoon .  There might also be a disadvantage to a line up with a larger half of the cast being singer/actors versus the comedians/variety show hosts.  You never know if the singers and actors are as entertaining as the comedians and variety talk show hosts. 

bff4

Kang Ho Dong is awesome because I love 2 Days 1 Night while he was on it.  He will surely know what to do with a traveling type show.

Yoon Jong Shin might also be good because he has been on Family Outing and he is one of the sharp-tongued host on Radio Star.  Not much of a fan of him but I think he’ll do well enough.

Yoo Se Yoon is also part of the sharp-tongued Radio Star family.  Hope he comes up with witty comments throughout.

Kim Bum Soo a.k.a. the guy who sang the epic song “bogoshipda” (I miss you) for the drama stairway to heaven.  There is a heartbreaking scene every single time his song is played.  I hope that his appearance on a variety show is not as heartbreaking as his song.

Kim Hyun Joong.  Excuse me, I mean KIM HYUN JOONG.  There.  I’m happy now 😀  I am a fan of SS501 and I am easily pleased when I see any of the members active again.  The group has been pretty dead after they signed individual contracts instead of a group contract.  The boys have reassured fans that the band is not breaking up, but the problem is Kim Kyu Jong is in military service now and we will definitely not see anything from them for at least the next year and a half.  Green peas / Triple S, hang in there!  The interesting thing is that I am a bigger fan of SS501 put together, but less of a fan of each individual member.  I’m glad that I will be able to see one member on TV but I’ll be happier seeing them comeback like Shinhwa.  If they can do a show like Shinhwa Broadcasting, it would make me very happy.  As for Kim Hyun Joong himself, I hope he brings out his 4D character as much as possible.  (Suddenly remembers the Anycall Haptic Mission ‘variety show’ and his 4D-ness…)

Eunhyuk of Super Junior.  Now this is one funny guy.  Best paired up with Leeteuk and Shindong for Teukigayo.

I don’t know much about Yoon Si Yoon and I’ve never seen his dramas but at least he’ll be there for eye candy.

And last but not least, UEE.  Honestly, I’m not such a big fan of her but as long as she is cool and laid back enough I wouldn’t mind her being on the show.  The last thing we need here is a princess for the boys to take care of.  Basically, I’d like her to take on the role of Song Ji Hyo in Runningman i.e. exuding awesomeness on her own.

First Destination and Concept

For the first filming of ‘Barefoot Friends’ they are off to Vietnam for 4 days 3 nights.  The show’s content is to learn about Vietnamese culture, history, people and landscapes.  The eight members will be split up into two teams of four members and perform various missions.  The missions include going fishing to find seafood and selling them at the market to get money for the costs of food and accommodation.  The main idea is to be self-sufficient and live like a local.  They spent the night at local private houses and continued their activities on the next day.  They have visited famous travel cities in Vietnam, ranging from Ho Chi Minh to Phan Thiet, Da Nang and Hue. Phuong Lan.

‘Barefoot Friends’ will premiere on SBS, on April 21 (Sunday).

Second Destination

  • Barefoot Friends’ next destination will be Jogjakarta and Bandung, Indonesia.
  • Barefoot Friends flight to Indonesia KE5627 April 26 departure 10:35am (KST) arrival Sukarno-Hatta airport 15:45pm (Jakata time)
  • They will be filming in Jogjakarta for 5 days and 4 nights

Sneak Peek of the Cast and Show

bff3

There are already some behind the scenes photos and videos of Barefoot Friends posted online.

The cast of SBS Barefoot Friends do the harlem shake!

Trailers

I’m already excited for this show!  Kang Hodong signature loud voice and getting slapped by a Vietnamese lady, Kim Hyun Joong laughing out loud, Eunhyuk holding up a sea creature, Yoon Si Yoon screaming in pain from pedaling a rickshaw – I’m sold!

Subbed Episodes

Episode 1     Preview of Episode 2

Episode 2     Preview of Episode 3

Episode 3

Episode 4

Episode 5

Episode 6

Episode 7

Episode 8

Episode 9

I will keep updating this post with more information!

*Pictures as credited.  Information for the post are from various news articles.

One thought on “SBS Barefoot Friends

Leave a Reply

