Friday Flashback & Friday Five: Bands of the ’90s

I’m writing a post for both segments: Friday Flashback and Friday Five. Let’s explore the music that define my elementary school days back in the 90’s. I still think the best music ever made was created back then.

Backstreet Boys
They have the best songs ever. It doesn’t matter if the lyrics doesn’t make sense. It doesn’t matter if I don’t understand what is it they want their way or if backstreet’s back, front or upside down. There is nothing they can do wrong with the songs they released in the 90’s. I’ve had some spontaneous breaking into Backstreet Boys songs karaoke session in the car or in the middle of the street with some of my girlfriends. It is absolutely amazing how I can still remember most of the lyrics in the chorus. Back then I always thought that Nick Carter was cute. That image was destroyed by the Carters’ reality show.


N*SYNC
The band that raised Justin Timberlake who brought sexy back. LOL! They’re more than that. My favourite in the band was Lance.

Sense a pattern here? I’ve always liked the blondes in the group.


911
Now this may be one of those bands is slightly under the radar for some people. Not for me! I think one of the first pop songs I learnt how to sing was theirs. My fav in the group was Lee.


Hanson
There’s a funny story behind this. I’ve always thought that there were 2 girls and a guy in Hanson. I even had an argument with a friend about it when she told me Hanson were brothers. Yup. Laugh all you want. The chorus to this song is so addictive! It doesn’t make any sense but I think that’s the best part 😀


Aqua
C’mon, don’t tell me you’ve never hummed “I’m a barbie girl, in a barbie world…” in your life! Yes, even the boys. I’ve sung it ’cause I can’t get it outta my head. But more commonly, I’ve sung it to mock it. They have the weirdest song concepts including Tarzan and Jane.

Did I miss out any memorable bands of the 1990’s?

Leave a Reply

