Thursday Love List: Taylor Swift’s Red

I’m not typically a mainstream pop kinda gal. I like indie group bands and Japanese alternative rock (yes, sorry, you can tell I’m kind of like a geek. hehehe) However, some albums out there are actually worth listening to. I also don’t typically like Taylor Swift’s music but I really like her newest album, Red. Most albums have filler songs but I feel that all the songs in Red have a story behind it and has a great beat to it. Plus you can’t complain that she did write all 16 songs on the album (even though she had some help writing some tracks)! 😀

Dick Clark's New Year's Rockin' Eve with Ryan Seacrest 2013

The tracklist to her new(ish) album has 16 songs in total. When I first saw that I was a bit surprised as most albums are typically around 12-13 songs. I think my favourite song, regardless of the fact that she has two mainstream popular songs on the album (we are never ever getting back together and I knew you were trouble), is “The Last Time”. It’s featured by the singer of Snow Patrol which may have an influence of why I like it so much~ Their voices blend so well together and if melting chocolate could have a sound, that would be Gary Lightbody and Taylor Swift’s voices together. Basically, this song. 😛

But I really enjoy the lyrics of the song, and the bass is amazing, even though the song is very mellow and slow. I’ll leave you with a Youtube link of the song and you can decide for yourself, if you feel the same way or not 😀

This is the last time I’m asking you this,
to put my name on top of your list
This is the last time I’m asking you why,
you break my heart in the blink of an eye

Leave a Reply

